Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activity. Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Our planet is the most important part of our existence. Without the earth, there is no humanity. Some people think that human activity makes the earth a better place to live. They say our earth has certainly been turned into a much beautiful world than it was centuries ago. I understand this point of view but I have a different opinion. I believe that human activity has harmed the earth more than it has helped and the following discussion reveals my stand and reasoning.

First and foremost, Human activity has damaged natural environment and almost exhausted natural resources. Starting from the age when man first started to use metal, more and more of earth’s resources are being mined and used. These metals take million of years to form but only several moths to be mined and made into products to cater for the human needs. The earth is running out of these materials. The reason of this lie the fact that the ratio between times used for the metals to form and time to be used is so great. Materials under the earth’s crust are not only things that face extinction, the wild life on the earth face the same fate. The human population is growing so fast that more and more space is needed to make area for living and farming. For example, humans are destroying the forest to gain a space they need to live, also upsetting the ecological system by deforestation humans deprived several animals of their natural habitats. This has endangered their life to an extent that in few years these species won’t be born again on earth. As you can see human activity is harming our planet.

Second, Our activities affect our world by making the environment dirty and unhealthy place to live in. Pollution comes from various resources and has many different forms such as water, air and noise pollution. These kinds of pollution do not only hurt our environment but also doing tremendous damage to our health. For example air pollution leads to different respiratory diseases and heart problems and the main source of air pollution is our vehicles, these cars produce carbon dioxide into the air, which is warming our planet causing global warming and climate change. Increase in temperature has caused several glaciers to melt and raised the sea level. Occurrences of natural disaster such as tsunami and Hurricanes are a testimony of this fact. This clearly demonstrates that human activity has damaged the earth and can, ultimately, completely destroy it.

In conclusion, human activity has damaged the earth. Not only humans caused ecological disturbances, but our activity also pollute our planet. We should all work hard to decrease our negative impact.