Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activity. Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The world is changing at a rapid pace nowadays, due to the actions of human populations. I am of the opinion that humanity has had a mostly negative effect on the planet. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, industrial development has caused major air pollution, which has a devastating effect on our health. Every week, we can hear news reports about how horrible the air quality has become in major cities all over the world. Additionally, it's often reported that chronic lung diseases are on the rise and that there is a connection between these two trends. I am reminded of the years I spent living in Beijing, which is home to many massive factories. Since I have spent most of my life living in the Canadian countryside, where the air is mostly clean, I immediately noticed the smog and pollution of urban China. Within months, I started suffering from respiratory illnesses and I had difficulty breathing. I spent quite a few afternoons at the local hospital being treated for various throat and lung infections. A majority of the population of the earth today resides in cities and often suffer from similar consequences of industrialization.

Secondly, human activity has led to a massive accumulation of trash, which spoils the natural beauty of the planet. In the past, most products were made of biodegradable materials such as paper and wood. Nowadays, on the other hand, the majority of products made of plastic which never disintegrates or breaks down. Such materials sometimes find their way into permanent landfills but often they end up as litter. When I traveled to the island of Borneo, I was impressed by the natural beauty of the place, but I also noticed that the natural environment was ruined by an accumulation of plastic bags and water bottles which were strewn everywhere. Had I visited the island a century ago, I would not have found it tainted in such a way.

In conclusion, humans are working against their own interest by polluting the atmosphere and other natural resources, which are essential for their survival. Hence, there must regulations to protect the planet, which is the only home for future generations, from industrial pollution and the accumulation of non-degradable waste