Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

Educational institutions not only provide students with the knowledge but also help them to evolve critical personal and social skills. I think that students should be required to attend classes at University. There are a few reasons why I feel this way.

First of all, in a classroom professors keep students focused. It is no secret that young people struggle from being distracted when they study on their own. There is a myriad of electronic device that takes away the attention of the students from their studies when nobody controls them. For instance, when I was a college student I did not have access to the Internet, Facebook, and television in dorms. So, I could focus on the learning materials constantly. Conversely, nowadays, the millennials have their cell phones on hand all the time. Moreover, they have kind of addiction to the device. They look at their phones every minute with or without a reason, and, therefore, the modern students get distracted continuously. This way, the teacher can help them to overcome the problem by prohibiting to use the cell phones during the lesson. If the students stay focused on the lessons, they will learn more and enhance intellectually.

Secondly, in the classroom, the pupils can improve their communication skills. When the students have an option to study at home, they lack an opportunity to socialize. They may become introverted persons unable to communicate effectively, which may cause problems in the future, such as the inability to build the relationships with colleagues. It is important to keep in mind, that the modern business based on the teamwork, and having a capability of interacting with the teammates is pivotal to excel. For example, back in the pharmacy school, I was a full-time student. I was always actively participating in a variety of college group projects. It helped be to develop social skills and built confidence in communication with others. In fact, after the graduation, it has been very easy to me to socialize at the new workplaces and to make friends with the colleagues. Moreover, the hard work and the great relationships with the co-workers made me promoted by my employers. To that end, attending the classes provides students with the opportunity for social engagement and career growth.

Although the remote studying can have some benefits, such as saving time and money on commuting to the university, they can not overweight the advantages of the presence in the classroom.

To conclude, I strongly believe that attending the classes is incredibly beneficial for students, and, hence, should be required by universities. This is because it helps students to concentrate on the learning material and gain indispensable social skills.