What is a very important skill a person should learn in order to be successful in the world today? Choose one skill and use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

In my opinion, the most important skill to have in order to excel in the modern world is the communication skill. There are a few reasons why I feel this way.

First of all, the ability to socialize easily helps to build the connection with co-workers, which leads to great outcomes in the workplace. It is no secret that modern businesses based mostly on the teamwork. Therefore, the capability of interacting with the teammates effectively is pivotal. For instance, when I just started working as a pharmacy technician in the United States, I faced a myriad of problems at work. The pharmaceutical system in the U.S. is completely different from the one in my country. Plus, the language barrier sometimes made it difficult for me to understand patients. But because I am a very communicative person, I had never hesitated to ask questions from my colleagues, and in fact, I learned very quickly the features of the new job and became a valuable member of the pharmacy team. Conversely, if I had been a shy person, and had never asked for help from my co-workers, it would have taken a long time for me to adjust to the new system and could have negatively affected the whole team. So, my own experience demonstrates the value of the ability to interact with people.

Secondly, a communicative person has more chances to feel psychologically comfortable at the workplace than an introverted one. People spend a lot of time of their life at work, especially those who work full-time jobs. This way, it is great when a person goes to work with the pleasure and does not suffer from social anxiety at the workplace. As I said above, I am a quite communicable person. It is always easy to me to make new friends in any society. In the pharmacy where I am working now, I have wonderful relationships with my co-workers, and when it gets very busy in the pharmacy, my colleagues and I have never given up. Indeed, at the tough moments, we are joking around and support each other. It helps us to discharge the psychological tension and feel very comfortable in the very busy work environment. On the contrary, if it is very difficult for a person to interact with the colleagues, the person will be constantly stressed out at work, which can cause depression and other health problems. To that end, the socially adept persons are more likely to enjoy their jobs and keep working.

To conclude, I strongly believe that having great communicative skills is the key to success in the contemporary world. This is because it helps people to adjust quickly to the new work environment and build the connection with the co-workers for the personal satisfaction, as well as for the best of the team.