Some people believe that university students should be required to attend classes. Others believe that going to classes should be optional for students. Which point of view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

In my opinion, attending the classes should be optional for students. The number of students attending the college is increasing every year, however, creativity or innovative thinking is decreasing in some universities where attending classes are necessary. The reasons are mentioned in the following essay.

To begin, classes take a big chunk of a day – if students attend all of them. The classes start early in the morning and usually goes until the late afternoon - nearly the time of sunset. As a result, most of the students get tired after coming home, and only take rest, play games, or hang out friends as a means of relaxing. For example, during the first year of my college, I just attended the classes and went home. This was a daily routine for the most part of the year. I could have too part in some extracurricular activities which I enjoyed, like chess, and badminton. But, because first-year students were had to have higher attendance at the end of that year, I did not take part in any of them.

Secondly, students should be encouraged to work more on projects than attending classes. It has been proven that humans understand something better by experience than by theoretical knowledge. If students do not apply what they have learned than that knowledge fades away soon. Moreover, projects help them to explore new ways or ideas which may be very useful for society. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg, the founder of Facebook, spent most of his time either in his hostel room or doing some projects. He developed several websites before Facebook and used that experience while developing his ultimate social networking website.

Although it is good to attend the classes for the students, it should be optional because it takes up a lot of time, which can be used to do some more beneficial work. Apart from attending classes, students should be encouraged to do projects to expand and apply their knowledge.