Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Modern society has become very complicated, obliging people to spend more time working outside, comparing to the past, a fact which has made parents have less free time to spend with their children. As the childhood has the utmost importance in shaping people's personality, here comes the long-debated question whether it is better to spend the meager leisure time playing games or sports with children, or to do things that are related to schoolwork, both of which seem reasonable in some aspects. Personally, I believe parents should organize the time so that they can do both, the notion which I'm going to elaborate further here.

Children crave playing games and sports, and while the schools are mostly focused on teaching theoretical lessons, parents can do a complementary job providing the chance for the children to play. While playing, they can gain a lot of energy that can help them be more ambitious and successful in school. It also develops their mental and physical abilities. For example, by playing team sports with their parents, they learn a lot about teamwork, which helps them to be more successful in their future occupations.

Alongside what we discussed above, children also need education, and parents can be a big help for children in schoolwork. Children may have some problems with the schoolwork that they cannot solve alone. While they may feel embarrassed to ask their teacher or their classmates, their intimate relationship with the parents can be a great merit. On the other hand, there are usually a lot of students in a classroom, a fact which makes it difficult for the teachers to keep an eye on each of the students. It also makes it hard for some students to keep pace with the class, and parents can use their time to fill this gap. Spending time to do assignments together can also improve children's enthusiasm and confidence; it just feels better than studying alone.

Many busy parents prefer to play and have fun with their children, mainly because it is both easier and more cool to do so. However, the parents should try to maintain a balance between having fun and help with children's schoolwork. This way, not only will the children enjoy the time with their parents, but also they can learn a lot.