Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, work has been increasingly occupying the time of people in modern society, resulting in the decrease of time to spend with our family. When it comes to how to make the best of the valuable time parents get to stay together with their children, some people believe they should play games or sports to have fun, while others argue that they should do things related to schoolwork. As far as I am concerned, it is preferable for parents to have fun with kids for the following reasons.

To begin with, playing together will help to bond parents and children. Since parents are mostly busy and not around, it is inevitable that kids feel distant from and even afraid of them every now and then. Using the leisure time to play with children is a good way to show them via action that dad and mom love you and are willing to keep you company and make you happy as long as we have the chance. For example, if parents go to swim with their children in precious spare time, they can encourage kids to overcome the fear of water and offer a hand when needed. Moreover, they can make harmless jokes on each other by playing water and laugh together. This way the kids will feel the care and love from father and mother, hence realize that they are not cold and far away. However, if parents prefer to do homework with kids, they might regard parents the same as teachers, strict and hard to get close with. As we can see, the distance between parents and children is shortened and the ties are tightened through having fun rather than doing schoolwork together.

Moreover, attending games and sports are beneficial to the comprehensive development of children. Not only parents but also young kids are under the heavy burden of work. Children need to deal with lots of schoolwork themselves when parents are usually not around. Since school normally stresses heavily on students’ scores while tends to neglect the cultivation of other abilities, they actually do not have many opportunities to get away from their study desk to touch and explore the world. Parents taking kids out to play might improve the situation. To illustrate this with the same example in the paragraph above, children who go to swim with parents learn how to swim, which can strengthen their bodies, bond them with other kids in the swimming pool, even save their lives in the face of danger. On the contrary, if parents also urge kids to study in the scarce spare time, children are confined in a small room for the sake of grades and deprived of the privilege to acquire other abilities such as swimming, social and saving one’s own life. Therefore, the all-round development of children is achieved by doing games or sports instead of schoolwork with parents together.

Some people might claim that children need help with homework, thus justifies that parents should spend spare time doing so with kids. This view overlooks the function and potential of various resources available, such as teachers, classmates, textbooks and the Internet. Since children can resort to these, parents do not have to sacrifice the hard-won chances to bond with kids and nourish them in an all-round way for schoolwork.

To put it in a nutshell, as the time to spend with children is more and more precious in the current, how to make the best of it has become a focus of parents. After weighing the pros and cons of the two approaches, I think it is safe to conclude that playing with kids is a better choice.