: Some people choose friends who are different from themselves. Others choose friends who are similar to themselves. Compare the advantages of having friends who are different from you with the advantages of having friends who are similar to you. Which kind of friend do you prefer for yourself? Why?

Nowadays, Friends are an important part of humans’ life and it is really difficult to find out a great friend. Some people choose friends who are different from themselves, whereas others choose friends who are similar to themselves. I, however, assume that everything has 2 sides so choosing suitable friends is not an exception; both of 2 kinds of friends have the various advantages.

To begin with, having friends who are same to you has much beneficial for you. Firstly, you and your friends are easy to understand each others. When you are suffering from a bad situation, you can tell that story with your friends easier than talking to other people. They sympathy for you and it may make you happier after you relieve your bad feeling. Secondly, you and your friends can share and enjoy the same hobbies. For example, both my friends and I like math so that we can help each other improve our weak skills.

On the other hand, having friends who are different from you is not a bad idea. Firstly, you can learn about different things that you may not know about it before. For instance, I have a friend who totally has unlike character with me. She likes to listen to Korean music and at that time, I just listen to American music. She let me try to listen to some her favorite song, at first, I really do not like that, but gradually, I become an addict at the Korean songs. I think that is a great experience in my life. Secondly, if you have a difficult problem, you can ask your friends, so that they may give many different perspectives. Otherwise, if you ask the friends who have the same character, they may give you an idea that you had thought about it. Thus, your friend with the distinct characteristic can help you see the problem in many diverse opinions.

In conclusion, I believe that people should choose a friend who has the unfamiliar character with you, as a result, you can have more knowledge about new things and you can have more choice to solve your trouble. Although you and your friends may get some quarrels, it can make you and your friends have more understanding about each other.