Some people say that teachers and parents should decide what assignment or activities children should do after school. Others say that children should make these decisions on their own. Which view do you agree with and why?

Different people hold different perspectives about whether adults have the right to decide what activities children should do after school. I believe that letting children make their own decisions is more ideal and reasonable. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, children care about their grades, so letting children determine their assignments can undoubtedly help them earn a better score. For example, my friend Todd had the freedom to choose what he wanted to learn after school, so he decided to study social studies and English nearly every day because he realized that he was not good at those subjects. Contrarily, he was already skillful and talented in math, so he naturally spent less time on them. In the long run, Todd earned good grades on nearly all subjects. On the other hand, my friend Jane was horrible at liberal arts. Unfortunately, both of her parents were math teachers, so she was assigned innumerable math worksheets by his parents every week. Eventually, even though Jane acquired a fabulous score on math, she still got Cs and Ds on Geography, English, and Spanish. Letting children choose after-class homework makes them acquire a better score.

In addition, adults should teach kids how to become independent, and allowing them to make their schedule after school enables them to b8ecome more independent. For instance, my brother assigned himself housework after his school ended every day. Therefore, he learned how to do the laundry, wash the dishes, and cook meals when he was only 10 years old. Furthermore, when he went on a field trip with his classmates, many of his friends asked him for help on various chores. As a result, he became one of the most independent children in his class. On the contrary, my cousin was forced to go to math, piano, and English cram school after he finished his class. Consequently, even though he frequently got first place, he had problems cleaning his room even though he was already a 16-year-old boy. Apparently, if children were allowed to choose what they wish to do, they could become more independent.

Last but not least, educators should emphasize students’ happiness. Yet, not letting children decide what they want to do after school will make them feel unhappy. Take me as an example. My middle school teacher required us to do community service for hours after 16 o’clock every day. To be more specific, we spent nearly an hour merely cleaning trash and leaves on campus. As a result, we often feel exhausted after walking through the whole campus every day. Moreover, after smelling too much unpleasant garbage, we often feel sick and disgusted. Contrarily, my sister often played board games with her friends after school. My sister made lots of friends and maintained good connections with them. As a result, she felt content with her school life. Conspicuously, granting children the right to determine what activities they can do after school will make them happier.

In conclusion, I maintain that letting children do what they want to do after school is a better option. After all, parents and teachers must focus on kids’ grades, educate them on how to become independent, and ensure that they are happy all the time.