Some people think governments should spend as much money as possible exploring outer spaces. Other people disagree and think governments should spend this money on our basic needs on earth. Which of these two opinions do you agree with?

Upon the question should governments spend money on basic needs or exploring outer spaces, different people have different opinions based on their education, culture, emotion, etc. From my point of view, each option has its unique advantages. Exploring outer spaces will provide us with first-hand information about other spaces but spending money on basic needs will help our country improve and prosper. So that I think the advantages of meeting basic needs outweigh the benefits of exploring other planets. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, a good shelter is the most significant need after water and food. Currently, a lot of people live in small rented apartments in my country. The price of apartment is high and most people cannot afford an apartment. They have to move from one place to another each year. In my opinion, if government build new houses, the price of house will reduce significantly and more people can buy a house.

In the second place, my country suffers from food shortage, drought and negligible precipitation. So spending money on developing research centers for agriculture is very important. In this center, researchers will train farmers to irrigate their farmland with less water and other necessary techniques. In addition, they will manipulate the genome of wheat, rice and corn to make plants with better characteristics. These new plants are more resistant to drought and pesticides. Furthermore, they have essential nutrients so the need for better food will be eliminated and more people get access to foods.

Last but not least, both the quality and quality of water in my country is not satisfying. Many people do not have access to drinking water in remote areas. Besides, in some areas, water contains heavy metals like copper and iron which are toxic to humans. So that improving the quality of water is an important issue.

Taking all the aforementioned reasons into account, it can be concluded that meeting basic needs like good shelter, enough food and high quality water should be the first priority based on the reasons which I outlined above.