Some people think that we learn our most important lessons in school. Others think that the knowledge we acquire outside is the most important. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Education is crucial for anyone to succeed in life. Along with that, one must have certain life skills that he or she learns continuously throughout life. Among all the lessons we learn in life, which plays a pivotal role? In my opinion, the lessons we learn in school are the most important for the overall growth. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, some of the most critical skills such as collaboration and competitive attitude are developed right from school. By working in group projects, and assignments, preparing for exams to get good grades, etc. spur the ability to compete in a friendly manner. Moreover, being part of a team students in school learn a lot of things including how to resolve conflicts between team members, keep an open mind towards the ideas of others, and communicate our thoughts clearly and accurately. Additionally, a child develops skills in public speaking and gains confidence by participating in extra-curricular activities in schools.

Secondly, the school is an educational institution that exposes students to a variety of fields. It helps them to make a well-informed decision about what field of study they want to pursue as a career. In schools, children are not well aware of different areas of study. Thus, they may get deprived of knowledge and potential career choice if they are not given an opportunity to learn a variety of subjects. Admittedly, the learnings we get in school are mostly theoretical. However, it provides the foundation for the learning journey of almost everyone.

Some may argue that the skills required for a job are mostly practical, and theoretical knowledge imparted to students in schools is in no way beneficial to students later in life. Nonetheless, one should not forget the fact that knowing the theory of any concept enables a person to understand the practicality. For instance, without knowing the theoretical knowledge of basic mathematics and scientific principles that we learn in school, we would not be able to apply them to solve real-world problems. The application derives its root from theory.

To sum up, it is undeniably true that the knowledge we get in school provides us with the base of everything we learn outside of school. Therefore, the knowledge we acquire later in life can not be given higher importance compared to the information we learn in school. Not only that, but keeping in mind the other life skills that people develop in early education such as collaboration, public speaking, and being competitive and confident clearly shows that school education is of paramount importance.