Some students apply for admission only to their first-choice school, while others apply to several schools. Which plan do you agree with, and why? Be sure to include details and examples to support your opinion.

After to their research students often find their dream school. They work hard to get into their dream school. Some even apply only to their dream school in a confidence that they will get admission into it. In my opinion, a student should apply to multiple schools.

First, applying to one school cannot guarantee that a student will get into it. If a student does not get the acceptance however brilliant the academic performance is they might not get into their desired school. Due to increase in population and scarcity of pristine education the acceptance rate has gone down. Therefore, rejection can demoralize students and they might not pursue further education. Applying to multiple schools ensures that a student gets into a school. It might not be their dream school but it might be the one with good programs and equally good as their dream one. Applying to multiple schools ensures that the student is not deprived of the academics.

Secondly, there cannot be only one school that provides courses that attract students. There might be many schools that can provide the same course structure as the dream school of a student. Each year academic schools compete with each other to become better. A student should not get stuck on the idea that the top schools are the best. They might miss out on the good schools if they are stubborn to get into only one.

Finally, a school becomes good by its students. Any good school is in the top because of the efforts made by their students. Therefore, its not only upon the college to gain popularity, its also upon the students to get the college to the top. A good research, extracurricular or a breakthrough can uplift the school’s status. For example, earlier students used to dream of pioneer institution like Oxford or Princeton but today institutes like MIT have proven to be elite classes of institute. Their alumni’s make the elite institutes.

A student should not get disheartened by not getting into dream school. Hard work and focused mind can lead them to their goal. Therefore, they should look into other options and apply to multiple schools.