Some students enjoy taking distance-learning courses on the computer or television. Other students would rather take all of their courses with a teacher in a classroom.

Aldous Huxley once commented, “Technological progress has merely provided us with more efficient means for going backwards.” The dawn of technological era has furnished human beings many progresses, while offering them many drawbacks. Technology has become a double-edged sword, especially in the domain of education. Some students argue that they learn better by taking courses online whereas others contend that they enjoy the traditional way of education: staying in a classroom. It is my belief that taking courses with teachers in classrooms would engender better educational outcome.

To begin with, taking courses with students physically present in classrooms can help students learn how to develop or maintain their interpersonal relation. To be more specific, when students are actually in classrooms, they can make acquaintances and expand their networking, which can tremendously help with their future careers. To exemplify this, my cousin Jeff attended University of Wisconsin-Madison, with a major in business and international banking. The program he was in offered him two routes of completing his degree: he could either take online courses or complete all the coursework in person by going to classrooms. My cousin contemplated over this issue and decided to go for the latter since he maintained that being physically present in classrooms would permit him to hone upon his interpersonal skill, an essential skill in business. In class, Jeff learned how to leave an impressive first impression, how to engage in small talks, how to cogently convince others, how to give a strong handshake, and the other “people” skills that successfully established him as a prominent international merchant, founding his own business and setting up multiple branch locations across the globe.

Furthermore, when students are required to go to class to learn, they would feel more motivated to engage in learning. Students typically get readily distracted; therefore, if they learn via virtual media, they would sometimes wander off into other websites or do other activities, such as receiving emails or browsing online shopping websites. Some people may argue such behavior might likely crop up if students bring their own laptops to classrooms. Nevertheless, in actual classrooms, teachers would at least be able to surveillance or monitor who is using their portable laptops by walking down into the lecture hall or the classroom and students’ desire or motivation of using laptops for non-academic purpose would be mitigated. I once attended an online summer English pronunciation course offered by New York University. One of the most conspicuous drawbacks attached to this course was that there were about thirty students registering this class. Our teacher would ask each student to take turn pronouncing and enunciating each word. There was some awkward silence or moment when I had to listen to others’ pronunciation. Feeling bored, I would just open Amazon page and started to look through if there were any items on sale. Although I did end up learning a lot of phonemic rules regarding English pronunciation, I indeed wasted a lot of time doing a host of non-academically related activities.

Irrefutably, some dissidents may disavow my argument by claiming that taking distance-learning classes has more edges over traditional method of learning because distance-learning is more flexible. Students can learn at their own pace, and they can play back course videos many time as they want if they find particular class materials challenging or unfathomable. That is, students’ learning would be tailor-made. However, have these people forgotten that these benefits can also be reaped with students going to classrooms? Students can ask teachers questions, visit teachers during office hours, or have a flaring debate or discussion with their classmates. What’s more important is that there are still some cherished and unique learning benefits that new media cannot replace. After all, just as Sydney J. Harris famously quotes, “ The real danger is not that computers will begin to think like men, but that men will begin to think like computers.”