Some students prefer to have their final grades determined by numerous small assignments; whereas others prefer to have their final grades by only a few large ones

Throughout history, education has played a pivotal role in humans' lives. Due to its paramount importance, scholars have tried to elevate the effectiveness of evaluation method. A controversial question which is often raised among students and teachers is whether the final grade of a course should be obtained from several small assignments or it is better to calculate it by just a few large ones. Some people may believe that it is more effective to have several small assignments, while others may hold the view that the effectiveness would be increased by reducing the number of assignments. I personally contend that there is no sharp answer to this question and it highly depends on the course syllabus. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first noteworthy reason for having several small assignments for some courses is that it will help the students to test their knowledge level little by little, and they would not postpone it to the final days of the semester. There would be an opportunity for them to retrieve the bad grades of each assignments in the next one; however, if there were just few assignments they would accumulate the lessons until the last days of the deadlines, and they would probably achieve worse grades finally.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that there exist some courses that had to be memorized since they do not follow any logical reasoning. Such courses would be better evaluated by a single assignment or at most few ones, Since the students should spend most of their time to memorize some keywords, names etc. As a personal example, I preferred to have a single exam for history related courses, because I was not able to put the information in my long-term memory. So, whenever there were just few assignments required for those courses, I would have got better grades.

The last but not the least important reason that esteems the few assignments method is that students would take it more important and focus on learning the material in an express way, while if there are numerous small assignments they with miss their chance in having good grades much easier. To illustrate, I would like to mention the results of a recent research. According to the statistics reveled by the scientists, although, the students’ knowledge in the studied fields would be kept in their long-term memory mostly when there were many small assignments required, most of students would have a better grade when there were just a few large assignments needed for the course.

In brief, by regarding to all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realize that it is not easy to suggest a single method for all courses, and that would highly depend on the content of the course. There may be other potential factors that could be evaluated. As a result, I highly suggest that authorities put more emphasize on research in this domain which would definitely in turn results in a promising future for the society in education area.