Some students prefer to study alone Others prefer to study with a group of students Which do you prefer Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Students may be familiar with group work or projects since junior school and most commonly in university courses. But usually, some of them are unwilling to study in a team because they think it will disturb them and somewhat impede their study. From my perspective, it is studying in terms of the group that benefits most.

First of all, studying in a group is more effective than its counterparts. To be more specific, when students learn something new in the class, chances are that this knowledge needs some particular background which they are not acquainted with. It will make them tons of time to search for and pick up it if they do it alone. So, comparing to this less effective way, studying in a group can be more helpful since other partners in the group may have learned and known exactly this point. For instance, our team used to face a difficult modeling project about optional transportation. I was capable to deal with mathematical problems, but I did not familiar with transportation. Fortunately, Jack, a member of our team who majors in the operation system, had learned this subject. He gave us a small lecture and then we addressed this problem perfectly.

Moreover, study motivation is crucial for students. When students study alone, they may have less motivation to study since there are many lures more interesting than study, such as YouTube, Tok-Tok, and Facebook, etc. These lures can indeed lead to poor academic performance to students if students spent a lot of time on them. This can be proved by many students who got a lower level in this semester’s online alone studying at home. On the contrary, if students are immersed in a study environment that others around them all study very hard, they will be motivated by the external atmosphere and to pay more attention to study rather than entertainment.

Admittedly, it will hamper the project that some quarrels or disputes in group work. However, this gives students the perfect opportunity to develop their leadership. They can learn how to embrace diversity and how to make efforts to let the whole teamwork smoothly form this precious experience. And this quality is very imperative and requisite in their future study and work.

To sum up, I believe studying in a group is more helpful and beneficial to students as a higher effectivity, stronger motivation, and development of other crucial qualities.