At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus such as how many hours the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some universities, experts are hired to make these decisions, and students are almost never involved. Which approach do you prefer and why?

Education is one of the most important things in today’s world. Every educational establishment has its own policy for each aspect of a college’s routine, organizational questions, and administrative work. Some universities allow students to participate in making the decisions about some issues on the campus life, like what kind of food should be served in the cafeteria, working hours of the library etc. I believe that universities should trust these issues to professionals. I will broach some reasons that validate my opinion.

To begin with, the professionals usually have enough experience and knowledge to arrange the work of universities in order to benefit the student’s life on campus or outside of it. These employees structure their work leaning on surveys, that provide essential information about the school routine, psychological aspects of the learning process; biorhythms of students, even diets preferences could be considered. Also, one of the most important things is that the budget of the university always put the first on the table; it means they solve every problem accordingly to possibilities of the budget. It is all about management today. The professionals see the big picture, and they care about every detail of the process and this kind of consideration brings the best result.

If the administration would ask students to decide, for example about the library working hours, some students will suggest that 24 hours is the best way, the other half of students might disagree with this idea. The cause of this kind disagreement is that everyone has his own way of study, and the time of their biorhythm when students usually more productive. The night owls will vote for late hours of work of the library but the morning larks will give their vote to early morning’s hours. So, from that perspective administration would have to deal with two preferences and find the solution that will suit each side, but it might be pretty wasteful for the budget to keep the library open 24 hours, additional expenses for employees and utilities like electricity. It’s crucial to understand the solution to the occurred problem from the different angles and find the most beneficial one for students and for the administration of the university.

I think students go to university to get the knowledge and specific skills that are required for their future profession, it’s inappropriate to waste their study time and energy looking for the solutions that will keep the campus life and daily routine equilibrium. Furthermore, decisions that have been made by professionals would definitely sustain the efficient policy in all extents.