At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus such as how many hours the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some un

Arrangements in universities such as how many hours that the libraries should be open or what kind of food should be served in the cafeteria affect students' academic lives as well as their living standards on campus. Some people argue that students should not be involved in making such decisions, and experts ought to be hired to do the job exclusively. Nevertheless, from my perspective, universities should take opinions from students seriously and allow them to participate in the decision-making process.

On the one hand, contributing to the policy on the campus, students will be more satisfied with their school lives, and their devotion toward their universities will grow in the meantime. As students own the right to adjust the arrangements, their specific needs are more likely to be met. For instance, when the finals are approaching, the demands for extra opening time for the library will rise significantly. Students could ask the library to open during the night time or extend the opening hours at the end of each term if they could participate in the decision of library policy. As a result, they can study in a better environment compared to cafes or other available places, and thus more appreciation for their universities.

On the other hand, the services provided by schools will be more efficient if students could access to the decision-making process. As the policy is designed based on their needs, students are more likely to take advantage of services instead of wasting them. For example, if the food sold in the cafeteria are popular among students, the revenues will be high, and less food will be thrown away because of spoiling. Only when the policymakers take the voice of students seriously could they succeed in making decisions.

Admittedly, asking students to make decisions tend to cost a considerable amount of time of both students and universities since opinions need to be collected and investigations are required to be made. However, the pay off for such conducts will bypass the costs of doing them as it is harder to withdraw a policy once the money and time are invested in that project.

In summary, it is wise to allow students to play a role in the decisions about issues that affect the daily life of everyone on campus because firstly, students will live a smoother life as their needs are satisfied, and secondly, the policy will be more efficient if students' opinions are taken into consideration. Finally, the benefits of allowing students to participate are well above the costs of it.