Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildings without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs-only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (e.g., fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.). The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument that moderate daily exercise needed of residents who must make use of the stairs rather than elevators raises people's wellness and longevity does not seem to be complete. There are gaps in the logic that render it unconvincig. The following essay will expose theses flaws and demonstrate how the argument could be made more cogent.

First, the argument unfairly presupposes that the first mentioned study, that people dwelling in stairs-only flats live on average of three years longer than their counterparts living in building with both stairs and elevators, is in fact representative of the majority of the community's citizens. Perhaps the select group chosen for the research accounted for a tiny fraction of the society's populace and hence, its results cannot be extended to the general population. If the author had statistically shown that those people studied by the first mentioned research constituted considerable percentage of the general population, the argument could have been strengthened.

Second, the fact depicted by the second study, that old residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors yearly as do dwellers of buildings with elevators, is little indication that the latter are healthier and live longer. Perchance those people visiting doctors more often are indeed a small number of the general population who cannot be representative of the majority of a city's residents. Just like the first study, the author has only pointed out to the output of the second research without presenting any statistics regarding the size of its select group. The writer could reinforce their case by supplying quantitative details about the second study and that how its results can show the trend among the majority of the populace.

Finally, what the author means by "several doctor's offices"? In other words, the term "several" could acount for a handful of doctor's offices in a locality that cannot be representative of the whole population. Similar to the mentioned studies, this reference to doctor's offices lacks the sufficient clarity in terms of the number of the examined offices. Moreover, why scoring higher than average on inquieries administered to new patients amount to their weaker health? How the marks are correlated to the level of the respondents's well-being and longevity? According to the argument, the respondents were asked to rate several aspects of their own health. does higher rating mean less life expectancy? The writer has just failed to answer such critical questions clearly. Questions which should be addressed so as to enable us to evaluate the argument's validity. The line of reasoning would become stronger, if the author provided clear evidence with the purpose of helping with answering the above-mentaioned questions.

To summarise, the argument is not wholly sensible. The evidence in support of the conclusion that moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs rather than elevators raises people's health and longevity does little to substantiate that conclusion, since it does not address the suppositions already brought up.