Several recent studies have shown a link between health and stair usage. One recently completed study shows that people who live in stairs-only apartment buildings (that is, buildings without elevators) live an average of three years longer than do people who live in buildings with both elevators and stairs. A second study shows that elderly residents of buildings with elevators make, on average, twice as many visits to doctors each year as do residents of buildngs without elevators. Furthermore, several doctor's offices are reporting that residents of stairs- only buildings scored higher than average on questionnaires administered to new patients, in which the patients were asked to rate several aspects of their own health (eg, fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury, etc.).The clearest explanation for these findings is that the moderate daily exercise required of residents who must use the stairs instead of elevators increases people's health and longevity.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the passage concludes that using stairs instead of elevators keep people healthy and enhance the durability of their lives. It is based on the findings from several studies which include average life span, less visits to doctors' chambers and higher rates regarding the survey questionnaires about body fitness. However, before the recommendation of the author can be properly assessed, three specific evidences must be presented.

First of all, the findings obtained from the first mentioned study indicate that the length of life of a person is solely determined by the use of stairs or elevators. There maybe other important factors responsible for this outcomes. It is a strong possibility that people who use only stairs actually maintain a balanced health diet while the people who use elevators and stairs don't rigorously follow it. Perhaps, people using the elevators are rich people who eat junk foods or fast foods more often than the people who use stairs. If any of the above situation has merits, the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, it is prematurely assumed that more numbers of visits to doctors symbolize the worse health conditions of the old people who use elevators. But it is a strong possibility that, elder people who use elevators are more health concerned and they like to maintain a regular check up. It may be possible that elderly people who use stairs can't afford routine check up and that's why they don't travel to the hospitals more often. Therefore, corelating the frequent number of visits to sickness is seriously flawed unless specific explanations with evidence are provided. Without sound explanations, the conclusion that is made from the argument is seriously weakened.

Last but not the least, once again it is falsely assumed that the traits mentioned in the writing eg fitness, sleep quality, susceptibility to injury are co-related to the use of stairs. However, there may be more prominent reasons behind this finding than the use of stairs or elevators. It may be possible that people who use stairs don't have their own vehicles and they make their travel to work by foot or cycle which keep their body fit and ensure sound sleep. Perhaps a recent survey from traffic control unit indicates that frequent road accidents and deaths are occurred to the pedestrians who walk by foot or ride by bi-cycle. If any of the above mentioned points come to light, the argument of the passage will be seriously undermined.

To summarize, the argument as it stands now, can not be accepted because of its' reliance on too many unwarranted assumptions. If the author of the passage is able to provide detained explanations with sufficient evidences as required in the above writing, the recommendation of the argument can be properly evaluated.