At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus such as how many hours the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some universities, experts are hired to make these decisions, and students are almost never involved. Which approach do you prefer and why?

Undoubtedly, the rules which are related to campus life have a profound effect on the students’ performance and their career in the future. Each university should try hard to make the best setting for its students. Although some people adamantly claim that professional experts should be hired to make the decisions related to everyday life in campus and provide their arguments, others hold an opposite point of view and assert that students who live in campus could do this job better. Personally, I am of the belief that it would be better for a university to use its students’ ideas about these issues. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the students who live in the campuse are facing with these issues every day. Such decisions wich are related to library or dining hall or even bus services could influence their lives seriously. For example, I can remember when I was an undergraduate student and lived in dormitory several years ago, the university decided to improve the students’ life condition in campuse. So the administration office made a questionnaire and distributed it among all the students living in dorm. The questionnaire was about the regular rules in dorm and asked the students to give their idea to have a better life in campus in order to enhance the students’ performance in the university. Fortunately, this plan was so successfull and after two months, the university implemented most of the students’ ideas. Luckily, the university achieved a siginificantly higher ranking in the country after that. That’s why I think that this solution is applicable in each university which is concerned about its students’ function.

Second, the university could save money. Undoubtedly, hiring some experts who are experienced in modifing such policies in the universities would cost a lot of money. Besides, there is no gaurantee whether their plans is effective in the university or not. For example, despite my university’s successful experience, my brother’s university followed a different way. His school hired some professional people who were so famous in the country. Even though the university paid a huge amount of money, it was a big failure for the university since the experts were unfamiliar with the different situation in our city. The money paid to them could be used in purchasing modern facilities for library or labs, but the university wasted it without getting any idea from its students. ‘

All in all, in my perspective, the universities could ask for help from their students in makin decisions for issues that are related to the every day campus life. Not only the student could give a comprehensive idea, but also the university could save money doing this. I would suggest each universty to do this to have a high performance students.