Some university professors let their students to choose their research topic themselves. Some do not. Which one do you agree?

Education is one of the most crucial factors in our society. Genuinely, it determines that how much our nation is successful. Although a plethora of people hold this opinion that selecting research topics should be one of the students duties, others disagree with this viewpoint and believe that research topics have been to chosen by professors. I, to a great extent, hold this vantage point that it is far more useful if learners choose their preferable topics. Among countless reasons, which can vindicate my point of view, I will mention the two most conspicuous ones through the following paragraphs.

The first reason that juts out of my mind easily at the first moment of thinking about this issue is the fact that students are more eager to accomplish assignments that they have been selected by themselves. Actually, learners are more aware of their abilities and their favorites; therefore, they are be able to select the best subjects to work on them. To shed more light on this matter, the noteworthy statistics revealed by a recently conducted research in the Massachusetts Institute of Technology shown that if someone selects a matter, he would have more impetus to accomplish it. In this study, the scientists investigated two groups of students, in one group each member had selected his preferable topic, and in other group, researches had been imposed on them, they were required to implement their commitments in due time. At the end of the study, results revealed that the former group had better performances. Hence, due to its paramount results, permitting learners to work on their selective projects should be always amongst academicians’ top priorities.

The second and equally exquisite proof for this assertion is about this importance that this permission would has some excellent outcome for professors who supervise these kinds of projects, since in this way they will become familiar with a variety of research fields. Therefore, it can help professors to broaden their horizons and have better future prospects. To give a tangible example, consider a teacher whose interest is robotics. If he accept to supervise projects in other fields, such as electronics, sensors and so on, he will gain a hoard of information and become more knowledgeable. Definitely, he is capable to guide his students better than his colleagues who have focused on a particular issue. Consequently, not only are selective assignments lucrative for supervisors, but also their students would be conducted to their aims accurately.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, we may draw the conclusion that it can be more advantageous for both learners and their professors if the students have a right to choose their projects by themselves. This contention is thanks to the fact that not only is it lucrative for the learners, but also their supervisors would gain some benefits. Therefore, every teacher should offer his or her students to accomplish selective projects.