Some university professors let their students choose their research topic themselves. Some do not. Which one do you think is better. Why?

Throughout history, schools have always made an ongoing effort to contribute to the student's academic life by providing the best educational strategies. The controversial question which arises here is whether professors should assign the topics of research to the students or the students should choose that by themselves. Although the first choice might seem tempting, I definitely would prefer the second one.

First and foremost, students by choosing their topic could enhance their sense of responsibility and decision making. Since they should look for the best topic for their research, they will get involved in evaluating different subjects from various aspects and make the best decision. As a result, all these tasks will boost their ability to make a good decision. Moreover, no matter how disappointing the results are, students should learn to accept the consequences of their choice. Deciding about their research area, they would learn how to be responsible for their decisions. However, in the cases that the professor assign subjects to the students, students will find some excuses for their indolence. For instance, when I was an undergraduate student, my teacher dedicated a typical subject to me that was interesting for himself. As a result, I did not do my best for the project. Eventually, I blamed my professor for a terrible consequence that obtained at the end of the research. Had my professor let me choose my subject by myself, I would have learned that I am responsible for my stuff.

Another equally important point is that students by having the authority to select their favorite subject, will cultivate their knowledge as much as possible. Undoubtedly finding an appropriate subject needs thousands of hours of studying and exploring among different sources. Therefore, students will learn a vast of knowledge during trying to find the best topic. Also, in this case, students will more enthusiastic about the topic. Recent statistics show the students who are more interested in their field of research will finish their research faster and in a shorter period of time.

To bring everything into conclusion, students should choose the topic of their research themselves. Not only does this approach could strengthen responsibilities and the ability to decision making but also it would boost their motivation.