Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a long time. Which of these situations do you think better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays, more and more young adults choose to live with their family members although they are considered fully grown. While it was natural that physically mature members of a family should get independence as soon as possible in the past, the average age of young independent adults has increased every year. Although there can be a myriad of different circumstances that obstruct young adults from being independent from their families, I think that it is still better for them to be independent from their parents at the early stage.

Firstly, it must be a burden for parents to care about their grown children. It is highly probable that those parents get much old when their children become adults. Therefore, they should be concerned with their own life after retirement rather than be occupied with the life of their sons and daughters. These children become to have abilities and responsibility to make their own living at this phase and it is not desirable that they still rely on their parents to be provided with goods and services. A few years ago, one television program examined this problem by broadcasting a family conflict resulting from this phenomenon. In that family, 30 years old son had no job and depended on his parents for livelihood. He has spent a lot of time on playing video games and idling away and as a result, his mother got frustrated and irritated to a large extent and the problem did not seem to be solved unless the son starts to try to find a job and get independence. Therefore, it can be said that being independent would preclude conflicts between family members and lessen the burdens of parents.

In addition, independence is beneficial for children's own life in several aspects as well. For example, they can have more freedom and manage their affairs based on their own decisions. Although the recommendations or interventions of parents would be helpful to make better results in some cases, the children's actions or behaviors could be limited in this way. As they become adults, many of them become willing to find their own life styles. For instance, some of them may intend to decorate their rooms fit for their styles and interests and some others want to have pets inside the house. When they live with their parents, it would be harder to express their own lifestyles as the parents can be dissatisfied with the changes. In this situation, young adults can fulfill their own plans and satisfy their parents at the same time when they move to their own places.

In conclusion, it seems to be a better choice for young adults to be independent from their parents for both themselves and their parents. As aforementioned, children can have freedom of choice while parents can have lesser their burdens when these grown children choose to live alone.