Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better?

Both choice have their merits and the better choice may differ between individuals due to their financial conditions, place of the job or home, or personality. However, I believe it is better for young adults to live independently from their parents as soon as possible from my own experience.

The main reason is that young adults can understand what is required to run their live through living separate from parents. When I graduated the high school, I decided to live with my friend. Soon after we start living on our own, we realize basic goods for living vary from toilet papers to dishes. While I live with my parents, those items were there without my effort, meaning my parents bought and placed them. We learned we have to spend time and money to prepare those items and maintain appropriate stocks. This was burdensome actually, while we wanted to take time to prepare for university classes, earning money by part-time job, and having drinks with friends. However, this experience gave us chance to learn how to balance those activities keeping physically and mentally healthy status. The sooner you experience living apart from parents, the sooner you can get used to the life, which helps you prepare for the living with full-time job.

Another reason is you can choose best place to live. Typically the original house is chosen based on parents needs, such as commuting time to their jobs. However, now that you have your own life and needs, you should decide where to live based on your own needs. Backing to my experience, my parents home was 1.5-hour distance from my university, which made me waist time just going to the university. With my own home, I squeezed the commuting time to 20 minutes so that I was able to spend time on more meaningful activities.

In conclusion, although it depends on individual situation, I believe living independent from parents is better choice for young adults. They can learn how they live, get used to the life in an early stage, and make decision for their own interest.