Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Although I believe both old and new friends are important, I basically disagree with the statement.

Firstly, your preference changes over time. What is important for you and what kind of friends you want to have are depends on your situation at that moment. For example, if you played some team sport in your high school, you may want to talk about the sport with your friends. In that case, it is better to have friends who is also interested in the sport. However, after you started the professional career and are in charge of marketing for example, having marketing guys as friends might be better to discuss about your work in depth.

Secondly, friends themselves is also changing as time goes by. Even though friends and you belonged to the same sport team and were best friends in high school, they would get job and spend time for their field that is different from yours. Then, you and your friends have no longer overlapped interests or topics. One of my friends chosen the career as biological investigator while I got marketing position, which have made us diverge into completely separate expertise and, now, we don't have nothing to talk about except daily talk or the past events.

Thirdly, making new friends broaden your experience, knowledge, and insight on our society. Since life is too short to be an expert in various fields in recent complex society, it is good idea to obtain knowledge from a new friend who is an expert in the field you're completely stranger. Extreme example of this point is making friends from other countries. Old friends or ones who share school days' memory tends to be born and raised nearby. Therefore, having friends from overseas provides tremendous insight into other cultures.

Having said that, there is fair amount of friends I keep in touch with for over 20 years from high school. The reason why is that we still share fundamental value, such as life-time learning and view for the life. As long as you share some fundamentals with the friends, I believe you'd better keep the relationship because you can completely understand their history of decisions and opinions in each life stage based on the shared value and what you guys talked in the past. This type of friends are much valuable than friends with short history indeed.