Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Others prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

We have known for long that parents play a vital role in the life of an individual and so it is good to have them in our lives. However, is it considered right to stay with them our whole life? The given topic is rather open ended and points out to a controversial statement asking whether young adults should be independent or live with their parents. I believe that young adults should move out after an age of twenty one and live their lives independently for the following reasons.

First, as young adults it is necessary to think that it is not right to rely on the wealth of our parents. Our parents have earned money their whole lives and I totally agree that it is their responsibility to get our schooling done. But that doesn't mean we depend on them every time. For instance, I am an individual living in India. In Indian culture, staying with parents is considered morally correct. And such situations give rise to cases when children try to acquire their parent's money and try to dispatch them to old age homes. We are their children but we have no right to snatch away their property. I am witness to many such cases. Hence, I feel that parents should also urge their children to be responsible and earn for themselves once they come to age.

Second, as youngsters we should be pragmatic and know that life will not be the same. In each scenario we should always be able to manage ourselves. If parents try to manage the situations for me will I turn into an independent adult? I think not. Staying separate from parents however would allow an individual to experience the ups and downs of life. Such an environment gives rise to anticipated planning and self management. For instance, suppose I am hungry and am craving for fried chicken. Staying with parents it is obvious that either one of them would make it for me. Problem arises when they are not present. In that case if I am craving for fried chicken I won't be able to have it since I am dependent on my parents. Had I been independent I would be able to satiate my appetite.

Thus, I would like to conclude by saying that independence from parents would make a person much more responsible and managing rather than remaining to be negligent and irresponsible towards real life scenarios.