Some young children spend a great amount of their time practicing sports. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent times, there has been a widespread debate on the benefit of sport for young children. Personally, I think there are many advantages and disadvantages of doing exercise at this age.

To begin with, one of the critical benefits of practicing sport for teens is being in good health. Doing regular exercise allows our body to burn more calories and stay in good shape. There are many studies say that the main reason behind obesity in most children is the unfavorable lifestyle such as sitting a long time in front of the TV and not practicing any kind of exercise. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was eight years old, my weight was 200 pounds. I had very severe obesity because I was spending most of my time playing video games at home. Moreover, I did not practice sport for almost three years because whenever I started doing that my obesity held me back. I had short breathing and I used to feel tired with any activity that required physical movement. Therefore, I did not have a healthy shape at all. Furthermore, avoiding practicing any kind of sport allow teens to be vulnerable to many critical diseases such as heart failure and diabetes. These invasive diseases can destroy children life and prevent them from enjoying their future because they have to adapt themselves to new life habit by taking some medications and avoid eating much food. Indeed, practicing sport has many health benefits for most young children.

On the other hand, practicing sport for a long time at this age might prevent children to focus on their study. They get distracted from studying their daily homework. For instance, my nephew Mohammed had the same experience. When he was at elementary school he used to spend most of his time playing basketball in the neighborhood’s gym. He used to come home late and tired, so he did not do his homework at all. As a result, he failed to succeed in school and he used to get very low grades. Obviously, practicing sport for a long time prevents children from succeeding in their education.