Some young people are free in the evenings or have days off at school, which way can bring them the most benefit?

1、 to accumulate work experience by a part-time job or volunteering in a community

2、 learning to play a sport

3、 learning to play a musical instrument

Nowadays, parents have more and more worried about their kids left behind in the starting line. Therefore, when their kids have spare time, they always try to add something that is beneficial, from their perspective, into their schedule. Plenty of choices emerge out such as extracurricular classes, part-time jobs, community activities, sports, new musical instruments and so on. Are these activities really benefit children or are they just another burden to students? We should consider this question really carefully. As far as I am concerned, doing sports stands out among all those options.

To begin with, sports are undoubtedly beneficial to students physical health. As it is known to us all, exercise accounts for improving people’s heart capacity and strengthening the muscles. The same is true with the sports because students get trained from the process of running or leaping. Since students do not have time to go to the gym every day, sports come to be the best way to amend that absence. To illustrate, a report from several high schools which test their students by body examination combined with questionnaire, indicating that 34 percent students exercise or do sports regularly in their spare time, while 37 percent students just stay at home learning art or music and the students left go out doing part time jobs. Meanwhile, from the result of their physical examinations, those students playing sports mostly have higher level of heart capacity and less chronic disease. Although other students do not suffer torturing maladies, their body condition are less positive than their exercising counterparts. Hence, doing some sports is an ideal method to improve body condition theoretically or practically.

In addition, the pressure from the academic burden can be released by playing sports. During the training or competing, what students focus is the sport itself so they can temporarily escape from their academic pressure like upcoming finals or piles of assignments. In the end, they will be filled up with new energy when facing the challenges in school. Take me as a vivid example. Back to my high school life, I was facing the pressure of National College Entrance Examination. I was so anxious that I was afraid to stop learning even if I got only one day off every weeks. Suffering from this anxiety, I finally freak out and I cannot concentrate on assignment and always wondered off when having classes. I searched the help from my therapist and the paramount advise came that playing tennis every day off. At first, I was doubtful because I thought it was just a waste of time. But after two weeks, it turned out that I was totally wrong. When playing tennis with my friends, I completely immersed myself into competition instead of worrying uncertainties like what was I going to do if I failed the exam. Tennis refreshed my mind and injected more energy into my body, which really improved my efficiency. Therefore, eliminating pressure is another benefit that sports can bring.

After carefully analyzing all the cons and pros, we can confidently reach the standpoint that choosing sports as the after school activity is choosing wisdom.