Some young people have free time in the evenings after school or on days off from school. Which of the

following activities would be most beneficial for young people (ages 14-18) to do in their spare time?

Why?

- Gaining practical work experience either at a part time job or by volunteering in the community

-Learning to play a sport

- Learning to play a musical instrument

We are living in a sophisticated age which leisure time plays a significant role in individual’s life. People are always trying to make their lives more convenient, delightful and purposeful. Some people believe that young people having 14-18 years old should learn to play a sport or a musical instrument, while others are convinced that these children should take a part-time job or participate in a volunteer work. After carefully pondering it from several aspects, I strongly agree with the latter idea. There are some reasons, the most outstanding of which will be discussed in the ensuing paragraphs.

First of all, undoubtedly, experience is a significant as well as fundamental parts of people’ life. Gaining knowledge through practical works expand young people’s horizon and also they are able to obtain better insight about their future. As a matter of fact, they are supposed to attend the society in the near future which participating in these programs bring them several lucrative consequences. For example, they learn how to manage their issues, how to collaborate with their friends and also how to follow something to get a suitable result. To illustrate this fact, on only needs to refer to the number of prosperous people participating in these programs in order to gain valuable experiences. Although participating in these program may take their time, what results from doing these works are to increase their ability to take the responsibility of what they do. The noteworthy intelligible results, which conducted in our country, show that the high percentage of students taking part-time job, are one who could find a decent job in the future due to having precious experience.

The second reason why I agree with it is that, obviously, taking part-time job provides an opportunity for the young students who are in this epoch to accumulate a hoard of money. The money obtained by taking part-time job enables student to pay their way. Since, some parents cannot afford to enroll their children in a great school, they are able to go to the best schools to follow their goals by the obtained money from taking part-time job. Furthermore, this job may allow them to continue their study at abroad because oversea universities are prestigious that after graduation they will be an experienced and knowledgeable person. Hence, if I were to be a determiner in our government, I would have established a center to provide part-time job for students who are in this period. In addition to aforementioned notes, there is a well-known proverb in Persian, the equivalent of which in English may sound like this” the more you gain money by taking part-time job, the more you would make your future better and successful”.

To make a long story short, no one can deny the enormous positive effect of taking part-time job or participating in a volunteer’s work. Not only are students in this epoch able to enhance their knowledge and experience, but also they could save money for what they have in their mind. For this reason, I highly recommended that every student experience these programs even for one time.