Sometimes we are assigned to work in a group on a project. do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The group will be helped more by person who will be willing to do what other group members want than by person who often strongly insists tha

To help students develop cooperation awareness, professors today are more likely to let students finish group projects together. Some people contend that members insisting on their ways to do things are more helpful to the group than people who are willing to do what others want. However, personally speaking, people who are eager to carry out the thoughts of other group members are more beneficial to a group, as it helps the group save up much time and contributes to the relationships among group members.

The first significant point to be mentioned is that cooperative members can significantly increase efficiency. Specifically, such members are willing to spend time in carrying out the thoughts and plans of the whole group and make the group more practical, which will definitely help the group save up time. For example, I was once assigned to work with roommates on a biological experiment that is quite complicated and time-consuming. After a brief discussion, we came up with a primitive plan. Without hesitation, one of my roommates started working on it. Greatly encouraged by his behavior, all of us get engaged in the experiment. Finally, we become the only group that finished the assignment on time, as other groups spend too much time arguing about the ways to do the experiment. Without my roommate's willingness to cooperate, never would my group receive positive remarks from our professor.

Another salient point is corroborating with my stance is that contribution among group members., in another word, a group member who is willing to work on others' thoughts can sometimes stop the endless arguments and create a friendly atmosphere. Take myself as an example; there was a time when I was assigned to work in a group which composed of students from different grades. In the beginning, several senior students insisted on their thoughts, thinking they were more experienced. Caring little about their arguments, I started to do researches on the views of the majority. Soon later, seeing what I was doing, all other group members stopped the meaningless argument and began to communicate more friendly about the specific steps to carry out the plan. If I had not been so cooperative, such friendly atmosphere would not have come up.

It has been argued that a person preferring to do things differently can benefit the group, as independent thinking might bring about the surprising result. Some group members may have unique ideas which cannot be understood by others until they are carried out. However, such independence can lead to a tight relationship among group members, which is positively harmful to cooperation.

In summary, it is sometimes true that people doing things in ways different from other group members can benefit the group. However, after discussion, I still think group members willing to working on others' thoughts are more helpful to the group.