Sometimes you are required to meet with another person to provide feedback about that person's work (for example, when you must give your opinions about a classmate's work on an assignment or your thoughts about a coworker's contribution to a project). When you have both positive and negative feedback to give about a person's work, do you believe it is more effective to give the positive comments first or the negative comments first? Why?

People have different views on whether we should give our positive feedback or negative first. In my opinion, I believe that people have to give others positive comments first since people care about their reputations, feelings, and acceptance of the comments.

First of all, people place emphasis on their reputations, if people give them some negative comments first, they would probably damage their reputations. Take me as an example. When I was an employee in a global company, my coworkers wanted me to give him some comments on his projects. Although his projects had many flaws, I still gave him some positive comments first. My coworker felt pretty comfortable and thankful for my extraordinary comments and also look after his reputation. However, if I gave him the negative comments in advance, he would feel I was very offensive and ruined his reputation.

Secondly, people focus on others' feelings, and if we give people positive comments first, they would like to listen to the following comments. My brother's experience is a compelling example to illustrate this idea. He had to work with his classmates on a side project when he was in university. To be more specific, he had to organize everyone's comments and delivered the comments to every teammate. However, there were many negative comments, but my brother know it was important for others' feelings. As a result, he said some good comments first to appraise, and then said the negative comments secondly to make people have good feelings.

Last but not least, nowadays people want others to take their advice, and if people give them positive comments in advance, their suggestions would have more chance to be taken. For instance, my friend, David, was very rude and no one wanted to listen to his comments. That is to say, he always firstly gave people many negative comments, and provided few positive comments at the end. Hence, his suggestions were seldom taken by his coworkers. Apparently, if he could give his coworkers some good comments at first and then offer a few negative comments in the following discussion, his advice might always be taken by his coworkers.

In conclusion, people still have many opinions on this topic. However, in the above essay, I fully support my reasons and contend my arguments. After all, people should give positive comments first because people care about others' reputations, feelings, and acceptance of the comments.