A teacher s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Teachers play a pivotal role in shaping the career and life of a student in many ways. While it is important for teachers to have subject knowledge, it is definitely more important for them to relate well with students.

The main quality in a teacher is to be able to explain the topic in a good way to students and this will be possible if they have a good rapport with students. Without this rapport, whatever is being taught, the subject, will not simply appeal to the students. As a result, they will pay no interest regardless of how exciting the topic is and how deep the knowledge of the teacher in it is. For instance, during my school time, we had a history teacher who is known for his outstanding educational qualifications and knowledge in the subject. However, none of the students in the entire school are fan of his lectures, not because he don’t know the subject or something but simply because he never used to teach as he was teaching for school kids, it just felt like he was reading the material. On the other hand, we had a mathematics teacher who was not that well qualified but was definitely considered a good teacher because people used to love the way he taught, he used to make us feel fascinating about the subject and its underlying concepts. It will not be exaggerating if I say we used to believe that those complex differential equations and trigonometry will be used in daily life. This was the impact this teacher had on us.

Further, during this internet era of schooling and learning, finding sourced of knowledge has become easier. As a result, anyone who has access to internet can get to know about things and learn new things. Nevertheless, we are not seeing any decline in school admissions and demand for good teachers. The reason for this is, it is widely accepted truth that we learn better if we are taught by an effective teacher, effective in the sense, effective in making us grasp the subject. Teachers should not just remain as mere ‘sources’ of knowledge. This would be possible only if teachers try to relate more with the students rather than gaining more knowledge. Additionally, these days, schools are places where young adults spend most of their time and we all know adolescence is the single most confusing and vulnerable part of human life. It would be a possible for such students to share their fears, concerns with a teacher who they feel are more relatable and empathetic and get their suggestions. Consequently, this will benefit them in taking right decisions regarding their career and avoid them from falling prey to bad habits.

Having said this, the importance of knowledge for a teacher should not be underestimated since it is a deal breaker if teachers are short of subject. There should be a delicate balance between knowledge and ability to relate to students for an effective teacher.