Teachers are making efforts to enhance students’ interest in study. Which way do you think is the most effective way?

1) Applying technology in their teaching, such as computers or other mobile devices;

2) Encouraging students to study in groups;

3) Introducing how this subject would be useful in the future

In order to get students interest in their study, teachers nowadays try every means to make study more attractive. At the same time, the quality of the education should also be taken into consideration. Some people think that applying high-tech into classes or having a introduce of the subject could prompt students to study. However, from my point of view, organizing study groups among students could be more effective.

To begin with, motivating students to study in groups could raise their efficiency in study. The original intention of study group is to let the students to learn from each other. Even though there are peer pressure and competition between students, study groups could allow students to help each other in their study and set up a platform for them to cooperate with each other. When they meet some problems in the process of learning, they could discuss it together, share and exchange their opinions. In this situation, students could discover their gaps with other students in class. This would also reduce the job of the teacher to answer very basic questions that have already been incorporated in class. Therefore, studying in groups would strongly intensify students’ desire to study.

In addition, applying technology will actually have a negative effect on students’ study, because electronic devices like mobile phones and computers would act as distractions and enticements that prevent them from paying attention to their school work. Teenagers at this age possibly lack the self-control ability. During the classes, they would spend their time on chatting with their friends by social media, playing computer games or shopping on the Internet. As a result, this would lead to an awful academic performance of the students and run counter to the original purpose of using the electronic devices in class.

Finally, having an introduction about courses that how useful it will be in the future cannot impress the students a lot. Due to their young age, students will not easily believe in their teachers how significant it is to learn about this subject. They may have a stereotype that all the classes they must take is only used for their tasks. Only through their process of learning can they grow up and know about how important it is to study these school subjects will. Consequently, students could only find the pleasure of study by themselves, but not the dogma that impose restrictions on them.

In conclusion, based on the reasons that applying electronic devices could draw student’s attention away from their study and introducing how useful the subject is in the future cannot be understand by students. I extremely agree that encouraging students to study in groups could is the most effective way.