Technology designed to make people’s lives simpler actually often turns out

to make people’s lives more complicated.

People often possess different perspectives in whether technology has made our lives simpler. While technology has brought convenience to us, some contend that it actually makes our lives more complicated. Based on my personal experience and observation of life, I disagree that technology turns out to make our lives more complicated.

First of all, new technologies do solve many problems in our daily lives and make lives easier. For example, Thomas Edison invented light bulbs and changed people’s lives in night time. In the past, if someone wanted to read a document or do any activity, they had to light up a candle or an oil lamp, which are extremely troublesome and did not work very well. After the light bulbs are invented, a simple switch can light up the whole area. Since then, luminosity has become so easy and simple.

Secondly, Technologies have brought our lives variety instead of making it complicated. For instance, with the invention of telephones and the internet, we are now able to communicate with people throughout the world. This has brought our lives great joy and variety.

Finally, although some may contend that after some new technology solved the original problem, it in turn gives rise to other problems, which make our lives more complicated, the problems actually are due to human nature, and technology is not to blame. For example, nuclear technology has brought to human unprecedented magnitude of nuclear energy. With the aid of nuclear energy, lives become simpler and better since it becomes so simple to obtain energy from the nature. In the past, people had to turn to animals, water, wind and fossil fuels to retrieve energy. Now, a few nuclear plants can surpass the energy obtained through these obsolete method. However, due to the aggressiveness in human nature, some people utilized nuclear technology and created nuclear weapon and make international relationships more complicated. Therefore, it is the human nature that is to blame, not the technology.

In conclusion, based on the reasons and examples illustrated, I strongly disagree that technology actually makes our lives more complicated instead of making it simpler.