In times of an economic crisis, in which area should governments reduce its spending? 1. Arts 2. Scientific research 3. Parks and public gardens.

There is nothing to doubt that economy had play an extremely important role in our life. During the time when economic crisis happen, government need to reduce the spending on a specific area in order to recover the economy in a country. Among the three choices show in the prompt, I think the area government should reduce is arts.

To begin with, scientific research plays an extremely important part in modern life. To be more specific, many resources we are using nowadays had been discover by scientific research. Without it, our life can become a totally different world. For instance, gasoline is the main source for cars to move. Therefore, it is important to observe where and how to pump out the gasoline. By doing scientific research, researchers can find to not just where the gasoline located, also the method of pumping it from deep under the ground. As a result, scientific research is crucial for people’s life, so the government should not reduce the spending on scientific research.

In addition, parks and public gardens are beneficial for people. In modern life, people are always busy for rather works or studies. Therefore, when people go to the parks or gardens to relax and breathe some fresh air. Beside, some parks is actually large, so people can even exercise in there such as jogging or playing basketball. Take me as an example, there is a huge park near my house. Every time when I finish studying, I like to go to the park and play some sports with my friends. It makes me feel extremely relaxing. Besides, people can also plant trees in the park or garden. By planting trees, it will decrease the air pollution because trees will absorb carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas. Indeed, parks and gardens are not only beneficial for people, but also profitable for the environment.

Undoubtedly, some people may say that the government should reduce the spending on rather scientific research or parks and public garden, because scientific research can cause lots of money and parks and public garden is not needed for people . However, I think art contain the least benefits for people, because not every person can appreciate the painting. Therefore, spending money on arts can be a waste of money. As a result, the government should reduce the spending on arts in order to recover the economic crisis.