.In times of economic crisis, in which field do you think the government can cut financial support? 1) Art 2) Science research 3) Parks and public gardens

During the economic hardships, allocating funds to various programs equally is difficult because there are so many factors to consider. In reality, funding for certain areas has to get cut because the government cannot afford them all. If I were to decide, I will definitely give priorities to the support of art and science research.

To clarify, I am not saying that improving the condition of parks and public gardens is not important. On the contrary, their functions a lot in the city's beauty landscape and the quality of citizen’s life. However, if the government are on a limited budget, supporting art and science research can be better tools to boost the economy in the long run.

To begin with, investing art during the crisis can bring impetus to the recovery of the local and national economy. This is because of the facts that the arts and culture industry plays a pivotal role in government revenue. For instance, once I read a piece of news showing that in America, Arts and culture make of a larger share of the nation’s economy than transportation, tourism and agriculture. To the specific, arts can be the driving force for the development of local businesses. During the recession, people are suffering tremendous pressure of making a living and support their families, while arts and cultural events such as the theatre, standup comedies and musical performance are things that could make them laugh, release their pressure and comfort their soul. As a result, all the admissions and the cost of meals, retail, and lodging are vital to commerce for local businesses.

Furthermore, science research brings major changes and revolution in our society, which could in return help to break through the economic dilemma. To be specific, scientific research can lead to the innovation of the products and industry upgrading. With better goods, it can promote people to consume and even export to foreign countries. As a result, the government will witness a vast increase in national revenue, getting out the trouble of economy. What’s more, scientists and economists can do research of all the industries and consumers. Through the analysis of recent economic situation such as domestic consumption or annual export reports, the solution can be found. Therefore, without scientific research, the government isn’t able to go through the economic crisis, not to mention promoting financial improvement.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that the funding of infrastructure seems less important compared with art and science research in a limited budget during the economic crisis. This is because art and science research can bring new impetus to national and local business and serve as tools for economic recovery.