This topic has been offered at least 2 times in the past 10 months: Your friend has the opportunity to study in either one of two majors (fields of study). Which one of the following two types of majors do you think is a better choice and why?

a) A major that would allow your friend to complete his or her studies and get a degree faster (so that your friend can start working full-time soon).

b) A major that would require more years of study but is likely to lead to more and better employment opportunities and job offers in the future.

From the two proposed options, I would recommend the second one that is about the major which is longer, but at the end, it would have a better future and job opportunity. Although spending less time on studying a major has its own advantages like entering the career world sooner, a better job situation worth spending much time, since 2 or 3 years are not very long in comparison with 30 or 40 years of working, and the availability of job positions is necessary when a person is choosing a major.

First, I believe that opting for a major which is longer to fulfill the requirements of graduation but has a more promising future, is a more logical choice, since at last 2 or 3 years of studying more is worthwhile in comparison to 30 or 40 years of working a person in the future. When a person has to decide in a dilemma, he or she should evaluate all different factors; two of which are the costs and benefits of a specific decision. For example, a person is going to be a doctor. He or she cannot work until 7 years of studies should be passed. However, after these 7 years, he or she could have a job which is much more brilliant than an ordinary job whose major lasts only 4 years. Although he or she cannot make money in these years, the extra money that he or she will earn because of a better job will compensate after just 2 or 3 years of working.

Secondly, what will happen after graduation of a major and there is no spectacular position for that job? It would be a disaster, even if a person has finished his or her studies after 4 years and have time for pursuing a career; this extra time would not help. Therefore, any individual should seek a major whose job opportunities may not decrease in the future. Not only does not decrease but also may increase. A person who has done his or her studies after 6 or 7 years, but can find a suitable job has many opportunities. When an individual can be pretty sure that after some years his or her career path is still brilliant, 1 or 2 years of more studying not only is not an obstacle but also could be seen as an opportunity for having a better future.

In conclusion, I would recommend to my friend to make a decision based on the long-term situation. If he or she can choose a major whose future job opportunity is excellent, I would rather propose this major, even if he or she cannot make money for some years.