TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

In most universities and colleges, students have the option to choose from different co-curricular activities offered by the school. Although this is a choice by the students, it not as important as the classes that students take. I believe that sports and social activities should not receive equal financial support with classes and libraries.

Firstly, academics is the backbone of a school. It is among the top deciding factors a student look for when choosing a university or college to enroll. For instance, I have a friend who became interested in the university represented by a basketball champion in a collegiate competition. He inquired in that school but unfortunately, the school doesn’t offer the course he wants to take. He was also disappointed with the facilities of the school such as the small library with very limited resources for students. In the end, he did not consider the university.

In addition to that, it is also the classes and knowledge gained from these classes that help students land to a lucrative job. Companies look into what an applicant knows about their job and based it mostly on the record of the students. I remember I had a classmate who is a popular basketball player in our university. He is known for being the best player in his team and had consistently brought trophies in the school but because of this, he hadn’t focused much in his classes. Now that we have graduated, he is having a hard time looking for work because of his grades. Being a basketball player did not help him in his application as an engineer because he can’t provide enough evidence that he can do his job well.

Students may take co-curricular activities as an aid for them to develop skills that may help them in the future. But they should still study and perform tasks related to their course. These are the reasons why I think that academics matters more.