TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Sports and social activities are beneficial for students which can strengthens their physical and emotional well being. In my opinion, funding this area should also receive the exact financial support like classes and libraries are receiving. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, sports can enhance physical health by being at topmost condition. Being a part of sports in universities and colleges will motivate students to exercise a lot and to condition their selves in games or in competition. Students also, are obliged to follow healthy diet, thus, can lead to pristine health. My own experience is when i am in college varsity team for volleyball, I become health conscious on my diet and overall health. I follow the advise of my coach to sleep full 8 hours of sleep a day, eat a healthy diet and avoid fatty foods, so, following the his advise makes me a healthier person. I open my eyes that health is wealth and I should take good care of my body, also, my coach instilled in my mind that it is better to be addicted to sports than to be involved in vices. Funding on sports in colleges will help the future students to become more aware of their health and also it can avoid being addicted to bad vices like smoking, drinking alcohol or drugs, hence, their attention would be focused on sports rather than vices.

Secondly, being involved in social activities such as environmental conservation also is helpful in community. In a sense that, more people will become involved in taking care of the environment. Social activities like conducting talks to the community will make a difference to spread awareness and responsibility in preserving the ecosystem.For Instance, Our group has helped a lot of communities to give back to the environment merely by simple things like not throwing garbage in the streets. We also come up with fund raising event to buy seedlings and fertilizer to plant on an area which has few living trees on it. This social activities mold me to become an better person, thus, made an impact on my life to care for the environment. This move can also help prevent further global warming and destruction of habitat of animals.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that sports and social activities should also receive the same funding like libraries and classes are allocated. This is because sports help students to be healthy individual and avoid being addicted to bad vices. Social activities like environmental conservation helps the environment to prevent further global warming.