TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that in any relationship, we should always be truthful to each other. Being hosnest and straight forward are always appreciated and it is essential in any relationship. Sometimes it might hurt our partner but relationship built on lies can never last long.

First, how strong a relationship is based on how much do we value each other, how much do we trust each other and how much do we respect each other. This can only happen if we are being truthful to our partner. If a person is not being genuine then you don't respect him. Nor do you trust him. Also, you cannot value that person as your friend or partner. Being truthful to each other is the base of any relationship on which everything stand. Just like in real world, if the base of the building is not strong then entire building may collapse, all relationships are the same.

Second, there is a possibility of losing our beloved ones if we are not truthful to them. It takes many days, sometimes even years of togetherness to know each other, to trust each other. But, a single lie even if it is insignificant, can destroy entire relationships. To illustrate, my friend was dating a girl in college. They were together from long time. His girlfriend once accidentally met her ex in a mall and they both ended up spending rest of the day together. That girl was just being nice to her ex and she really loved my friend. But, she kept this from my friend. When he got to know about this from a third person he was so upset. When he asked her she lied to him because she didn't want to upset him and there was nothing going on with her and her ex. But, my friend couldn't trust her from then on and eventually they got into lot of fights and they ended their relationship. If she had explained it to my friend irrespictive of the fact that it might make him sad, all this might not have happened.

On the other hand, there are circumstnces where telling truth might not be good, such as doctor patient relationship. If a doctor knows that his patient is suffering from life threatening disease, then it is not good to tell him on directly. However, hiding it from patient is not good too. For example if a patient is suffering from AIDS which is not a curable disease, hiding this fact from patient might cause great problems. If he/ she is not aware of this, then there are possibilities of their partner even child getting AIDS. In such a situation doctor should know how to tell the truth that does not unnerve the patient.

In summary, it is always good to be truthful to our partner in relationship. Sometimes truths could be harsh, bitter which might upset our partner but in long run it will definitely help each other.