TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Good relations are based on trust. Today, human relations have become formal and superficial and definition of truth has been changed over time.A white lie has become very common not only in commercial areas but also in our social life. However, I strongly believe that telling the truth is always is always good in all situations of life. To have honest, friendly and peaceful relations with family members, friends, and co-workers, we always tell the truth in every situation of life.

First, family relations are the pillar of our life and a base of this pillar is trust among family members. We should have transparency in our relations for example between husband-wife, parents-children and among siblings. If you tell an untruth to your family members, then you will feel a distance in your relations, not stay happy and experience burden on your head.

Second, to get progress in your professional life we should have good friendly relations with the boss and colleagues. If you tell lie at your job, then no one would believe you and you have to tell another lie to hide your first lie, and this series would go on and finally you would not able to concentrate in your work. For example, when you are not capable to do your important assignment on time, without manipulating the matter, you should tell the truth and at that time you may get the real help from others too. So you can have mental peace and can make progress in your professional life.

Third, social relations are very important for us. To keep our good reputation forever in the society, we must speak truth. For example, my uncle in India, he was a great broker and lends money to so many farmers saying that interest rate is very less, but then after he used to charge very high-interest rates, as a result he had lost his good reputation in the society, and one night he was murdered. So, this way, untruth ruins your good reputation and may prove very dangerous for you and your family.

Lastly, people say lie very easily in the business world But, these people do this just increase their sell and to get more money. Such white lies are very common in today’s world. In my view, honesty is the best policy, so all the people should adapt this policy, in a commercial field too. Hence, to have a good family and professional terms, and to build and maintain a good reputation in society, we must speak a truth in our life.