TPO-04 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

over the last few decades, with the increasing number of vehicles sales, cars have become a very controversial issue in the modern world. personally, I believe that shortly most people will be many more vehicles in use than there are nowadays. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the developing world is increasingly urbanizing, which means that in the future more people will need to drive to their workplace. In the past, most people were not dependent on these vehicles, as they engaged in agriculture work. most of them were working, which in fields near their homes. In contrast, today most people live in apartments in the urban area and use public transportation or their automobiles for the commute. my friend fred is a compelling example of this. All of his parent's members worked on rice farms in western Turkey. Once in a while, they traveled short distances using pack animals, but generally stayed close to their native village. fred, on the other hand, moved to a city last year to work in an iron factory and drives almost thirty kilometers from his home to the factory every day with co-workers. I can see no indication that this trend will reduce in the future. As a result, it seems likely that even more people will experience this.

Furthermore, incomes are rising all over the world, which means that in the future automobiles will be affordable for even more people. In the past, there were a few personal cars which were owned by some very rich families in the cities. Now, however, consumers in developing countries like China and India purchase millions of cars every year. Drawing from my own experience, when I first moved to Istanbul, I didn't have a car. I had to walk 45 minutes to and from work every day. however, I would dream of owning an automobile of my own, but it would make financial sense for me to walking or take public transportation. I have even wanted that someday hope to own two automobiles, just like many people in the west. Consequently, I strongly believe that this trend will eventually increase in the future.

In conclusion, I believe that in the future there will be more vehicles on the road than there are today. this is because the world is rapidly urbanizing, and because rising incomes will open up even more markets for automobile companies.