TPO 03: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

most people agree that friendships are important relationships throughout a person’s life span. While some people think that an old friend is the best choice, others disagree with this notion. personally, I believe that it is more important to make new friends than it is to keep old friends. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I explore in the following essay.

To begin with, The first important point that makes me hold this belief is that making a new friend can help people’s mental health. Especially, if you are living in a different city or going to a different school, your old friends always may not be with you. For example, these days, most university students are studying out of their hometowns, with little knowledge about the new environment. if students can make friends readily, they will reduce their sense of anxiety and keep their minds healthy. On the other hand, if these students have less ability to make new friends, they will have difficulty adapting to this new environment. eventually, this situation, could feel discouraged to students in university life and even affects their academic performance. As a result, making new friends is the most important component of a person's mental health.

Furthermore, the second rationale why I advocate this point of view is that meeting a new friend is the best way to a new perspective in life. meeting new friends always allows us to learn new things within our life. my personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I first moved to Istanbul, I didn’t have a car. my colleague from my company suggested I buy a bike and said we could ride together to work if I wanted. Moreover, we would ride bicycles to work at least 3 days a week and sometimes would ride bicycles in the local neighborhoods to go shopping on the weekends. I can say that I learned everything about cycling from her. Now she is my good friend to whom I share my problems and she helps me to find solutions. Additionally, thanks to her I feel very healthy and I never feel alone. it is clear to see that making a new friend is a key role in social lives.

In conclusion, I do believe that new friend always keeps our mental health and it improves our perspective. this is because these people will eventually lead to a reduction in our stress and an increase in our overall knowledge.