TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that life today is a lot more easier and comfortable than it was when our grandparents were children. The industrial revolution and the internet technology have taken human development to the next level to enhance our way of living.

During the days when my grandparents were children, they had only limited means of transportation to a designated place. It was mostly by public transportation like bus and less likely by trains and their personal vehicles like bicycle etc. On the other hand, we have come a long way from there and these days, we are able to travel by air to major cities of the world. Trains became ubiquitous mode of transportation. In metropolitan cities, we also have the underground subway and metro trains for local transportation.

During those days, information was accessible to common people mostly by personal books, magazines, journals or library. With the advent of internet, we are able to gain access to a number of resources for the information. We have the wikipedia, an online encyclopedia that can be used to know about any person, place or thing. We have e-papers that give us hourly updates of the news around us. We have several websites that provide journal and conference papers for research. Moreover, we have the social networking websites like facebook, whatsapp, quora, twitter etc. that lets us not only communicate with our friends and family, but also share any information that we want to.

Apart from transportation, communication has seen a major boost during the last century. In the olden days, they had postal service or telegrams to communicate with one another. It would take some days for the message to reach to the other person. So, it was not reliable during emergencies. In contrast, consider our present world where we have the fastest mode of communication possible. We have the telephones that lets us talk to any person at the very instant. We have the emailing service where most of the professional communication takes place. Internet also provides us wide variety of options to communicate with an another individual like via social networking websites like facebook, gmail, yahoo etc and apps like whatsapp, hike etc.

Unlike the olden days when literacy rate was low and getting educated was a big deal, there are ample resources and opportunities in the modern world to not only get educated via formal institutions, but also obtain degrees based on online courses. Popular websites like MIT open source, Coursera etc are few such examples. So, gaining skills is much more easier to pursue what ever we want to be it professional or at personal level of interest.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that life today is way easier and more comfortable than it was when our grandparents were children. Not only in the aforementioned sectors, we have come a long way in health, urban development and planning, infrastructure, administration, arts, facilities for sports etc.