TPO-07 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education play a pivotal role in our lives. It is believe that the more knowledge we gain, the more success we will have in the future. Therefore, people try many methods to enhance their comprehension. Most young people go to the university to study. However, while learning they raise question whether it is more significant for them to understand ideas and concepts than learning facts. People have their own opinions about this issue. In my point of view, knowing the concepts thoroughly will help students to apply for their real life more effectively. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, learning and understanding the idea and theory of a subject will help students to realize the fact efficiently. We all acknowledge that if we do not know the idea of a thing, we cannot work on it. For example if you want to make a cake, you have to know its recipe. Another example is more compelling of this case. When I was in high school, I was not good at math and physics. I asked one of my friends to help me how to work on them. She explained for me the formulas of each case. Therefore, I could understand and finish a lot of homework of these subjects easily. If I did not know the concepts and formulas of those subjects, I would never be able to do homework and assignments of math and physics.

Alongside the elaborated reason above, another idea is noteworthy to consider is that understanding concepts enables people to save time. Everything has its rules. Once we find out its regulations we can do it more quickly. To be more specific, when I first used computer, I typed very slowly, and I did not know how to use all digitals on keyboard. However, when I learned to put my fingers on keyboard correctly, and learned the functions of each digital on the keyboard, now I do not need to look at the keyboard. Likewise, I can use computer expertly.

In conclusion, people have their own opinions about issue whether it is more important to study and understand concepts than learning the fact. For two aforementioned reasons, I completely agree that understanding ideas and concepts is more important than learning the fact because it not only helps you to apply your comprehension for real life more effectively but also it enables you to save time.