TPO 08 agree or disagree: television advertising directed towards young children (age two to five) should not be allowed.

Whether television advertisements ought to exactly aim young kids or not is a convoluted question and has been a matter of argumentation among people for a long time. On one hand, some individuals agree with this opinion because they think that this will benefit manufacturers whose products are related to little toddlers. On the other hand, others believe that this is a harmful idea since it may damage their future by so many ways. Personally, I comply with the latter suggestion in spite of the fact that the former one seems to be more acceptable and has more aficionados. My answer to this debating bone of contention is twofold. In the following, the rationale behind my choice will be elaborated by the most outstanding, solid proofs.

The first and foremost explanation is that children in these ages are not mature enough to distinguish between appropriate and inappropriate contents; therefore, they are prone to make incorrect judgments by watching these advertisements. To put it into a more vivid picture, researchers from RMIT university, one of the leading universities in Australia, conducted a survey of parents with young offspring among whom they disseminated a questionnaire and realized that obesity is more in children who like to watch food-related advertisements. It is good to be noted that most of these advertisements are made to increase the producers' profit, so they may not really consider the children's health issues. As an illustration, there was a famous advertisement in England which encouraged kids to drink a well-known orange juice as it contained Vitamin C. A girl used to drink one liter of that brand's orange juice every day, but after three months, her face turned orange due to the fact that the factory used color instead of real oranges. Moreover, these children may intimate some actions which they see in these advertisements which can affect them badly. For instance, there was a famous advertisement in USA which showed that little kids eat a snack after their school. This specific advertisement influence almost all children in America in the late 19's insomuch as all of them used to eat an extra unhealthy meal.

The second and equally important reason is that these advertisements can distract kids from the activities which are substantial for their development by showing them unnecessary hobbies, such as video games. Scholars have found that children who insist on doing the activities which are dictated to them from the advertisements will not be hired in senior positions in their 20's. For instance, my cousin loved to watch advertisements of "Play Station 3" (a videogame brand); thus, instead of being attracted by useful activies like reading books, he addicted to these wasteful games even though his parents tried their best to make him quit.

In conclusion, as the aforementioned rationalizations and facts, media should not allow the producers to provide these advertisements which aim small kids. As these toddlers are premature they will be misled and distracted from far-reaching activities. Furthermore, they will incline to consume the foods which are not healthy and nutritious. Still, this question has mutually exclusive hypotheses, so there are other probable ideas about it. Therefore, neither are my assumptions robustly content, nor do others' explanations take into account.