TPO 1 Task 2 Question Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal finance support

All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. Personally, I believe that physical activities that facilitate social interaction are as important as the studies and should definitely receive equal attention and financial support. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, studies and sports should not be considered as separate activities. In fact, they aid each other and together help in the growth of the students. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I was initially an average student who was not involved in any extra curricular activity. My class teacher encouraged me to join the sports club of the college and interact with the other students. I joined the club and eventually learned a lot of new skills such as teamwork, punctuality and dedication towards the sport. These values ultimately helped me in my studies and therefore i was able to improve a lot on the education front. My scores went up and my ability to remembe r things increased.

Secondly, sports help you to stay healthy and active. To be more specific, if a student is healthy and energized, he will be able to focus on the studies and eventually do a better job. For instance, my little brother had always been lethargic and he used to fall sick quite often. However, since he started taking part in the sports events in his university, his health has improved a lot and also his immunity has increased. He is happier and healthier now and as a result he is much better in his studies. He is able to study for hours without getting tired. He is the topper of the class as well the the head of the sports club.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that social activities and sports are also a part of a student's life and therefore, should get the attention they deserve.