TPO 12- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the world alters rapidly and all human experience a huge improvement and advancement in the field of science and engineering. Likewise, this swift development causes the advent of new subjects which are all interconnected to each other. In fact, today, we face more of interdisciplinary studies. When it comes to specializing in academic subjects, controversy surrounds the issue of whether it is beneficial to have a broad knowledge of several academic subjects or not? I am of the opinion that people should enhance their knowledge in different subjects and the further explanation will elaborate on this matter.

One of the most significant aspects of the ongoing topic which demands a keen contemplation is that if people want to keep pace with the modern technology, they have to master in more than one specific subject. That is to say, as new developments use different science to operate, we have to enhance our perception to realize their usage better. Take my father for instance. He has been working in the IT company as a web developer in the past 10 years. A couple of months ago, their company adopted higher technology to acquire more customers and make more money. However, my dad did not wary of this change and he did not have the ability to perceive advanced and higher appliances. Consequently, he got fired from his work because they were searching for new adept employees whose knowledge were vast enough to adjust for different conditions.

Another noteworthy aspect of the topic which needs to be reflected is that companies today are looking for multifaceted people to perform faster. As a matter of fact, all companies and factories compete with each other and perfectly know that a business holder cannot reach to extreme interest rate unless dominates a broad range of information and data. Thus, a versatile employee can help them broaden their notions about different aspects of their work. Moreover, they can facilitate the time which has to be allocated for one work because they have enough knowledge to come up with creative solutions. To illustrate, perhaps my own experience can shed more light on this matter.

I am always a person who gets the job just because of my extensive knowledge in fields of mechanics and business. My boss relies on my tips to manage business related problems.

Paradoxically, it is impossible to get profound knowledge by mastering in different subjects because as an important saying indicates that every person is born a unique talent to be a profession in some subject. In this regard, nobody is able to be perfect in any scientific fields due to their characteristics.

On the basis of the points mentioned above, I am pretty convinced that there are many reasons for supporting the idea of mastering in more than one specific subject because we can keep pace with the new technology and also get better job positions. Meanwhile, it is improbable to get a deep understanding in all subjects because of our limited brain capacity.