Some people think It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. I agree with this statement up to a certain age which is high school age, that way students can make an informed decision of which field they really like and can be good at. However, at college, I think it is better to specialize in one specific subject for the following reasons

First, Focusing on one academic subject gives the student the time to read more and do more research in this specific subject. That way he or she can get more deeper into that subject. If they are focusing on many subjects they can not have the time or the ability to go deeper into any of these subjects. For example a lawyer or a law student needs to have the knowledge about the laws in general but after couple of years at school he or she needs to be good at one specific subject such as crime, immigration or business and more, that way he or she can work on that specific field and be an expert in it.

Second, No one can be good and professional at everything, Focusing on one academic subject help the person to get more experience in his work field and that way he or she can serve the community in a better way. For example, In the medical field we have the family doctor who can treat the whole body but when things get complicated the family doctor transfer the patient to a specialist that is because the specialist has more experience with that specific disease and can help the patient in a better way.

In conclusion, Broad knowledge is definetly needed for everyone but by the time the student grows up and knows which subject he can be good at, that is when specializing is better that broad knowledge in order to serve the community better.