TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debate over whether it is good to excell in one specific field or to have broad understanding of many different subjects. In this reapidly growing technological world, everyone are struggling to pace with rest of the world. I strongly believe that it is very important to know about many subjects rather than mastering one particular filed. I feel this way for several reasons which I explore in following essay.

First, learning and mastering one subject is not enough to implement anything in real life. For example, if you take computer science as a field, it has many core subjects like c programming, operating systems, unix, data structures. One cannot study operating system without strong basics of data structure and algorithms. Similarly, just knowing the algorithms doesn't help you to implement it in real life applications. All these are interdependent. In order to become a good programmer or software developer, broader knowledge of many core subjects is essential.

Second, knowing many subjects gives you an opportunity to have varied career. To illustrate, if you are a java programmer who knows Linux operating system, then you can work for application development as well as system development. An employee can work in a particular department for some duration and if he gets bored then he can change his team to work in a new technology. On the other hand, one excells in a particular subject and if market value of the technology goes down, then company will stop investing on the product. As a result it might remove all the empoloyees from that wing. If the situation outside the company is no different, then employee's career is at stake. He is forced to learn knew thing when he is not earning. That's why it is extremely important to know many subjects.

Third, knowing many subjects helps to solve the problem in real life. Even if you are an art student, you should have basic understanding of mathematics and science. Because they are essential in our day-to day activities from grocery shopping to yearly tax computation. Without knowledge of maths you can't survive in any part of world irrespective of your field of stude. Accordingly, I feel it's important to know more than one subject.

In summary, I strongly belive that it is essential to have broader understanding of many academic subjects. Because many subjects are independent and one can have better options in career.